ATHENS, Texas – Each year the public has a chance to nominate a favorite fishing icon for consideration as an inductee to the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame. Nominations will be accepted until Feb. 28.

The Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame, which is housed at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center here, honors legendary anglers, fisheries professionals and organizations that have made a contribution to freshwater fishing in Texas. One nominee will be chosen by an independent selection committee and formally inducted during the annual Hall of Fame Banquet in May. The honoree will join a legendary group of fishing Hall of Famers including Floyd Mabry, Jackie Hewlett, R.D. Hull, Bob Kemp, Nick Creme, Charlie Inman, Sugar Ferris, Leonard Ranne, Earl Golding, Kathy Magers, the Sabine River Authority, Skeeter Boats and Michael (“Shorty”) Powers.

The rules are simple. The nominee must be a Texan or Texas organization that made a lasting, beneficial impact on freshwater fishing or freshwater fisheries management in Texas. Individuals may be either living or deceased. The nomination form must be completed and postmarked by Feb. 28.

To submit a nomination:

* Obtain an official nomination form available from or from the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center by calling (903) 676-2277.
* Complete the nomination form and mail it to the Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame, c/o Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center, 5550 FM 2495, Athens, Texas 75752, or fax to (903) 676-3474 by the deadline.
* Include copies of supporting do*****entation (testimonials, videos, photos, samples, etc.)
* Nomination forms and all materials submitted with them become the property of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and will not be returned. – Lake Mohave

– Lake Mohave

Related Images: